Port Wakefield is many things … part roadhouse strip, part pioneer town, part port with beautiful old colonial buildings, part mangrove swamp, and part birdlovers’ delight. Geographically, the area covers 343,500 hectares with a number of townships, settlements and localities located in the area: Alma, Avon, Balaklava, Beaufort, Blyth, Bowmans, Brinkworth, Halbury, Hamley Bridge, Hart, Hoyleton, Inkerman, Kybunga, Lake View, Lochiel, Mount Templeton, Nantawarra, Owen, Pinery, Port Wakefield, Rochester, Salter Springs, Snowtown, and Whitwarta. The regional area is served by a well-developed transport and communication networks. The main roads, which include the Stuart Highway, are all sealed and there are well maintained minor gravel roads throughout the district.


Wakefield Regional Council

Click on the left-hand labels to compare councils based on a specific detail.

 Regional Information